Writing Letters to Home

I’m having like negative hours to do things with finals on the horizon, which of course means I want to write, right?

Sadly, I don’t have enough time to commit to any of my longer stories, so I think I’m going to set up a challenge. It will let me write small amounts and still get the creative juices flowing.  And I’ll leave it here for your to take it up, too.

Writing Letters to Home

Write a letter as yourself, one of your characters, or a character from your favorite work (t.v. show, book, etc) to someone important in their life. It can be light-hearted, but it can also dig a lot deeper. Use it to expand a character’s depth or maybe explore your own depth of character.

The inspiration I’m using is “Amsterdam” by Imagine Dragons (lyrics below!)

I’m sorry, mother… I’m sorry, I let you down
Well, these days I’m fine – No these days I tend to lie
I’ll take the West train, just by the side of Amsterdam
Just by my left brain, just by the side of the Tin man

I’m sorry, brother… I’m sorry, I let cha down
Well, these days you’re fine – No these days you tend to lie
You’ll take the West train, just by the side of Amsterdam
Just by your left brain, just by the side of the Tin man

Your time will come if you wait for it, if you wait for it
It’s hard, believe me… I’ve tried
But I keep coming up short

Image Source

Leave a Reply

